Fleet World Workshop Tools
Car Tax Calculator
CO2 Calculator
Car Comparator
Van Tax Calculator
EV Car Comparator
BiK Rates Company Car Tax

Mitsubishi and Dundee City Council named LowCVP Low Carbon Champions

By / 5 years ago / Latest News / No Comments

The winners were revealed at a gala dinner held in association with Cenex in Milton Keynes last night (9 September).

Mitsubishi took the award in the prestigious Low Carbon Car/Van Manufacturer of the Year category, with VW and Nissan also shortlisted. The judges said that the Outlander – which helped the company scoop the award – has been a game-changer, bringing plug-in hybrid technology to a 4×4 SUV, at a competitive price. The model has achieved impressive sales, especially in the company car market.

The judges added: “Mitsubishi has been an early adopter and was ready to take a risk which has paid off in terms of vehicle registrations.”

In addition Dundee City Council was recognised for its work in adopting alternatively fuelled vehicles with the award for the Low Carbon Vehicle Operator of the Year

The judges said: “Dundee City Council has put into practice what they preach using alternative fuel technologies and encouraging other cities to do the same. Dundee has demonstrated a strategic approach to both fleet and infrastructure and carefully thought about perceptions and users’ experience.”

The full list of awards is:

  • ‘Grand Prix Award’: Outstanding Achievement in Low Carbon Transport (Winner of winners)
 Winner: Optare
  • Outstanding Individual in Promoting Low Carbon Transport
Joint Award: Professor Neville Jackson, Ricardo; Dr Doug Parr, Greenpeace UK
  • Low Carbon Car /Van Manufacturer of the Year
 Winner: Mitsubishi Motors
    • UK
Shortlisted: VW; Nissan
  • Low Carbon Heavy Duty Vehicle Manufacturer of the Year
Joint Winners: Optare and Scania GB

    • Shortlisted: Leyland Trucks; BYD Europe B.V
  • Low Carbon Vehicle Operator of the Year
Winner: Dundee City Council

    • Runners up: First Bus with City of York
Short-listed: Reading Buses
  • Low Carbon Fuel Initiative of the Year
Winner: Convert to Green Ltd

    • Short-listed: GENeco; Rapid Charge Network
  • 2015 Award for Low Carbon Innovation by an SME
Joint Winners: Avid Technology; Wirth Research

    • Short-listed: Ashwoods Lightfoot Ltd, Dearman 
  • Low Carbon Road Transport Initiative of the Year
Winner: GENeco

    • Highly Commended: Aberdeen City Council
Short-listed: ECO Stars
  • 2014 Outstanding Low Carbon Publication or Report
Winner: Urban Foresight

    • Runners-up: UK Power Networks

    • Highly Commended: ICCT (Wasted); Element Energy
For more of the latest industry news, click here.

The author didn't add any Information to his profile yet.